Featured Articles

Authorities of Knowledge

O Learned and Devoted Servants of God,

[January 16, 2011] To accept any concept, there are four authorities:

1) Shruti, the scripture, which is the divine text and it is the Veda for Hindus.

2) The second authority is Smruti, which is the text written by sages.

3) The third authority is logical discussion to find out the correct interpretation of the scripture.

4) The fourth authority is experience of divine scholars.

Essence of Mahavaakyas

Let us examine the first authority, the Veda, which is said to be the word of God revealed to sages. In this scripture, lot of importance is given to the four great statements (Mahavaakyaas). One statement says that the special knowledge is God (Prajnanam Brahma). The special knowledge cannot mean simple awareness, which is found in animals and birds. The word 'Jnanam' means 'Knowledge' and not mere awareness. Awareness is the basic material but knowledge is the special design of it. When you appreciate a golden jewel, the appreciation for the specialty is related to the design of the golden chain and not to the basic gold. You do not appreciate a lump of gold. The word 'Pra' denotes the 'Specialty' and the word 'Jnanam' denotes the 'Knowledge'. The word 'Knowledge' eliminates all the living beings other than human beings because only human beings possess and express knowledge. The word 'Pra' indicates a rare special human being only, who is possessor of the special knowledge. The result is that a specific human being, who is the possessor and preacher of the special knowledge alone can be God like Krishna, who preached the Gita-the special knowledge.

When you say that a king is ruling the country, the word 'king' cannot mean every living being and you cannot say that an animal or a bird is ruling the country. The word 'king' also cannot mean every human being because every human being cannot have the special talent of administration to rule the entire country. Hence, the word 'king' indicates a specially talented human being only. This statement also indicates that the main purpose of God to come as a human being is to preach the special knowledge only. Another statement says that an individual human being is God (Ayamaatma Brahma). The word 'Atmaa' means not only the awareness, but also the external human body. 'Atmaa' means that which pervades. The awareness pervades the body through nerves. Awareness is the neural energy flowing in the nerves. The body also pervades the space as it grows. Therefore, the word 'Atmaa' stands for the human being, which is the human body along with the awareness. The three statements saying that 'I am God', 'You are God' and 'He is God' denote only the aspiration that everybody should become God in the near future. The verbs in present tense like 'am', 'are' and 'is' stand for the present tense indicating the immediate future as per the grammar. These three statements also mean that the human form of God is like Me, you and him for external look. Since God looks like an ordinary human being externally, these three statements indicate the aspect of similarity. The fourth statement brings the difference, which says that God is the 'Special Knowledge'. The possessor of knowledge can be called as the knowledge itself, when the knowledge excels in the possessor as per the grammar. Therefore knowledge means the possessor of knowledge. According to lakshana, the possessor can be called by the possessor material. A seller of apples is called as 'apples'. All these four statements indicate the human incarnation only.

Read More →

Copyright: © 2013 Shri Datta Swami

Browser Compatibility: Firefox, Opera, Safari, Chrome and IE8+ on all Desktops, Mobiles and Tablets

Visitor Statistics

free hit counters